How to get a baby to drink water

My partner and I have been fantastic at buying the bare minimum that our child will require to develop and function in life, but the bane of our finances has been beakers. We were doing oh so well at buying the correct amount of clothes and toys and nappies per age range but our track record went out the window the moment we started weaning.

As you may well know once little ones start food, so they need to start drinking water to avoid constipation. Granted it takes a while to learn any new skill and drinking out of a beaker is one of them. I mean how hard can it be, all our friends have babies that took to water like…well like fish to water!

But my little one decided that anything that resembled a beaker he was not interested in having within 5 inches of his face. What proceeded was crying and whining and his new thing, hand swatting to avoid water near him. Initially I thought he hated the taste of water but in actual fact I started introducing him to beakers too late. Ideally I should have started at 5months but I was lax and started properly at 7months by which point my baby was aware of a different teat and texture (plastic) and decided he didn’t like it because he didn’t understand what to do with it.

image1-2

I have tried the following from left to right:

  • Water in his normal bottle (but this can confuse the baby and not recommended)
  • Phillips Avent Baby Classic (this is the beaker that worked!!!)
  • Tommee Tippee Sippee Training Cup (this is hard to suck from)
  • Tommee Tippee First Cup (90% of mothers I know, found this beaker the best but I had no luck with it)
  • Tommee Tippee Baby Beaker with Straw (you have to persevere because the sucking motion is hard but once they figure it out, it is fantastic. It worked for a few friends but not my little one)
  • Mr Happy Beaker (the teat is too large so more appropriate for older children)

 

If you can’t tell already, I have a fussy baby! But my advice is persevere because water is important and it is much like tummy time. You have to suffer and persevere no matter how much they dislike it for their own good.

Leave a Reply

